Return to Headlines

Board Elects New Chair and Vice Chair

At its December 3 Special Call Meeting, the Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools Board of Education elected Dr. Jillian La Serna as its new chair, and Deon Temne as vice chair.

La Serna is currently an assistant professor of Educational Leadership at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. She studied cross-cultural language and academic development from California State University-Sacramento and earned her MSA and Ed.D in Educational Leadership from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. 

Prior to joining the faculty at UNCC, La Serna served as the principal of Carrboro Elementary School. She also worked as a classroom teacher, dual-language reading specialist and assistant principal.

Deon Temne A graduate of the University of Maryland University College, Deon Temne is a veteran of the U.S. Army, where he served for 14 years. He also worked in Washington, D.C. for 20 years as a cybersecurity program manager and senior engineer with the United States Department of Commerce.

An advocate for children, Temne has served on the School Improvement Teams for both Rashkis Elementary and Northside Elementary, as well as the Equity Advisory Council, Family Commission and Special Needs Advisory Council.

We want to offer a sincere thank you to Dr. Mary Ann Wolf and Dr. Amy Fowler for serving as the chair and vice chair over the past year. Their work is greatly appreciated.