Return to Headlines

National Merit Scholar Semifinalists Announced for 2022

On September 15, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Twenty-eight Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools students earned Semifinalist awards, representing Carrboro High School, Chapel Hill High School and East Chapel Hill High School.

These academically accomplished high school seniors can now compete for approximately 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level. Nearly 95 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title. 2022 National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced in four news releases from April to July of next year.

Congratulations to all CHCCS Semifinalists, and good luck in the finalist round!

Carrboro High School

Kathryn Hegland

Hannah Preisser

Emily I. Spang

Chapel Hill High School

Harper Baer

Ethan Feldt

David J. Fort

Michael R. Hopfinger

Kevin D. Ji

Olivia Kornstein

Katherine Soong

Abigail M. Weber

Daniel Xu

Justin W. Zhang

East Chapel Hill High School

Eve V. Bryner

Wade C. Buchheit

Atticus J. Crothers

Daniela Danilova

Joyce Y. Jiang

Erin I. Lee

Benjamin K. McAvoy-Bickford

Rahul Niranjan

Grady L. Purcell

Claire Thananopavarn

Rama S. Varanasi

Zhiyun Wang

Daniel W. Wu

Tyler L. Yang

Kevin Zhou