Return to Headlines

Public School Foundation Announces 2020 Endowed Teaching Chairs

The Chapel Hill-Carrboro Public School Foundation (PSF) is delighted to announce the five recipients of the 2020 Endowed Teaching Chair Awards.

The Public School Foundation recognizes that experienced teachers are the most important factor in student learning and partners with the school district to attract and retain the best teachers. Awarding Endowed Teaching Chairs each year is one way that the Foundation acknowledges the contributions of outstanding educators and rewards their efforts on behalf of the students.

This year’s recipients were nominated by students, parents, and colleagues. A committee of parents, students, administrators, teachers, donor representatives and Foundation board members looked for teachers who ignite enthusiasm for learning, who create an exceptional learning environment for all students and who serve as leaders and role models for learning and for their profession.

PSF Chair Walker


Ronetta Walker of Northside Elementary School has been awarded the Sockwell Chair for Excellence in Teaching Primary Grades (PreK-2).

"I am beyond blessed to have the opportunity to work with amazing educators, students, and families in the Northside Community and throughout CHCCS," Walker said. "It is truly a pleasure to represent Pre-K teachers throughout the district, showcasing our hard work within the community. Thank you, Public School Foundation, for this great opportunity."


Mary Peres-Da-Silva of McDougle Middle School has been awarded the Glaxo Smith Kline Chair for Excellence in Teaching Middle School Science or Math.

PSF Chair da Silva


"Receiving the GSK Teaching Chair award has strengthened and inspired me to do what I have always loved doing: Positively impacting students lives by igniting a passion in learning and education," Peres-Da-Silva said. "The Public School Foundation made it possible for me to start a STEM club and a Hydroponics garden with my students thus providing them with innovative learning experiences. I believe that "Education is the Passport to the Future", and every day I feel lucky to go to work and play an integral role in my students' journey in achieving higher education."



Jamie Fernandez-Schendt of Carrboro High School has been awarded the Bernadine Sullivan Chair for Excellence in Teaching High School English or Social Studies. PSF Chair Jamie FS

 "It is my hope for all students to grow in my classroom as both leaders and citizens in their communities," Fernandez-Schendt said. "That to me is the most basic function and purpose of a public education. As a social studies teacher, it is this mindset that motivates me and informs my philosophy each and every day in the classroom. It is such an honor to be recognized by the Public School Foundation and I hope it reflects my own small piece of leadership and active citizenship in our community."


 Christine Sudzina Schut of East Chapel Hill High School has been awarded the Burton Stuart Chair for Promising New Secondary Teacher of Math or Science.

PSF Chair Sudzina East


"I feel so fortunate to work with such dedicated, innovative and stellar colleagues, administrators and staff at CHCCS," Sudzina Schut said. "As an enthusiastic life-long learner, I am excited on a daily basis to strive to inspire and support my students to do their best in the science classroom as well as in their community.  I am truly honored to receive this award and grateful for the support of the Public School Foundation."


                                                                                                                                                            PSF Chair Corrie

 Corrie Franklin of Chapel Hill High School has been awarded the PSF/PTA Chair for Excellence in Teaching Cultural Arts. 

"I am honored to serve as your Cultural Arts Chair!" Franklin said. "The Chapel Hill-Carrboro City School community is a truly amazing place to teach. Each day I look forward to creating beautiful music with our amazing students! Thank you Public School Foundation for supporting the arts in our schools!"