Return to Headlines

Thirty-one CHCCS Students Reach Finalist Round for National Merit Scholarships

Thirty-one CHCCS students received letters from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation in mid-February, notifying them of their placement in the Finalist round for 2020 National Merit Scholarships. All Finalists will be considered for three types of National Merit Scholarships to be offered in spring 2020.

To become a Finalist, the Semifinalist and a high school official must submit an application, detailing the student’s academic record, participation in extracurricular activities, leadership abilities, employment, and honors received. A Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT® or ACT® scores in line with the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test. Merit Scholars are chosen on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.

This year’s National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced in four nationwide news releases beginning in April and concluding in July. 

Carrboro High

James Delony

Ashley Hong

Akshay Mankad

Tobias Meng-Saccoccio

Akash Mullick


Chapel Hill High

Reagan L. Brinkman

Jonathan T. Crabill

Jasmine Ji

Matthew R. Koenigshofer

Maya D. Montgomery

Kelsey O'Connell

Amit S. Parikh

Earl R. Pommerich

Matias Shundi

Peter Yao


East Chapel Hill High

Tanay Bali

Darcy Boast

Jeremy Carin

Evan Chan

Anthony DeCesaris

Vivian Deng

Benjamin Goldberg

Dorian Hayes

Megan Higgins

Eleanor Kasrawi

Jasmine Lee

Lucas Park

Emily Schanzer

Aidan Turnbull

Liliana Wuerth

Joanna Zhang