About the Transportation Department

  • Every day, over 5.300 students board a school bus operated by the Transportation Department in order to come to school. We employ over 90 people, 74 of whom are bus drivers. The district operates 60 regular buses and 14 EC buses for both morning and afternoon routes. Nineteen additional activity buses are also included in the fleet to transport students to special events and field trips.

    The Transportation Office is located at 1708 High School Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27516.  Our telephone number is 919-942-5045 and fax number is 919-969-2466.  For information about bus stops, routes, or other transporation questions, please contact us by phone, or submit a question using our online forms.  For chaperone background checks please use the Volunteer Office background check portal.

We're Hiring Bus Drivers!

Transportation Contacts

Transportation Director
Brad Johnson
919-942-5045 Ext. 1
bjohnson@chccs.k12.nc.us

Transportation Operations Manager
Jonathan Norris
919-942-5045 Ext.2
jonathan.norris@chccs.k12.nc.us

Assistant Operations Manager
Sharon Croom
Ext 29232
scroom@chccs.k12.nc.us

Secretary
Nakia Allen
919-942-5045 Ext. 1
nlallen@chccs.k12.nc.us

TIMS Coordinator
Jena Dolby
Ext. 29228
jdolby@chccs.k12.nc.us

Trips Manager / Lead Driver
Vicki Bynum
Ext 29230
vbynum@chccs.k12.nc.us

Lead Driver - EC
Pattie Reid
Ext 29224
preid@chccs.k12.nc.us

Shop Foreman
Brian Harris
Ext. 29229
blharris@chccs.k12.nc.us

Lead Mechanic

DMV Examiner / Trainer

      Bus Routes

      Carpool Information

      • Today, more than ever, it is often difficult to juggle your student’s busy schedule with your own hectic work schedule. A carpool is a good way to ensure that all of your families’ activity demands are met.  There is also the added of saving time and fuel.  Is there an opportunity to rideshare to school with another family? Does your student need a ride to practice afterschool?  Planning and coordinating daily schedules and activities can be both difficult and stressful.


        Relax, we are here to help. Did you know that there are organizations and apps to assist you? We have listed a few below to help you get started on the road to carpooling.

         

        Disclaimer

        CHCCS does not endorse any of these sites and/or their products. The list is simply available as a tool to assist you in arranging carpool options for you and your family.  There are numerous carpool organizations and apps available to assist you with your carpooling needs.

      Here Comes The Bus App

      • here comes the bus

        "Here Comes the Bus is an easy-to-use website and app* that enables you to see the location of your child’s school bus on a smartphone, tablet, or personal computer. This way, you know when the bus is near your stop, so you can send your child out at just the right time. If your district has the Student Ridership service as well, you can use the Here Comes the Bus website and app to see when your child has scanned on and off the bus." - Here Comes the Bus

        District Code: 86446

        Visit the Here Comes The Bus Website to register.