Why Join an Academic Club?

    • Become more active at Smith Middle School
    • Be part of a team
    • Increase academic achievement
    • Enrich and challenge your mind
    • Receive practical training for the future
    • Participate in innovative competitions
    • Enhance scholarship opportunities

Academic Clubs at Smith

Club Name Advisor Advisor Email Advisor Phone Extension Practice Times Important Dates
Chess Club Eric Zeigler ezeigler@chccs.k12.nc.us 21121 Tuesdays 3:20-4:20 PM in Room 121
Gay-Straight Alliance Steve Young syoung@chccs.k12.nc.us 21212 Mondays from 3:15-4:00 (Location TBA)
Math Counts: tinyurl.com/smithmathcounts Boyd Blackburn bblackburn@chccs.k12.nc.us 21802 Mondays from 3:15-4:30 PM (Location TBA)
Model UN Erin Kellas ekellas@chccs.k12.nc.us 21770 Mondays from 3:15-4:00 (location TBA) - Starting in January
National Junior Honor Society: tinyurl.com/smithnjhs Katie Williams katiewilliams@chccs.k12.nc.us 21803 The second Tuesday of every month (except November) from 3:20-4:15 PM in Room 513
Odyssey of the Mind (OM) Eric Zeigler ezeigler@chccs.k12.nc.us 21121 TBA
Quiz Bowl Bratton Holmes bholmes@chccs.k12.nc.us 21427 TBA
Science Olympiad Regina Baratta rbaratta@chccs.k12.nc.us 21791 Thursdays and Fridays from 3:15-4:30 (Location TBA) Starting in October, students choose one day a week to attend
Lori Clark lsclark@chccs.k12.nc.us 21309 Thursdays and Fridays from 3:15-4:30 (Location TBA) Starting in October, students choose one day a week to attend
Theatre Danka Kulikowski dkulikowski@chccs.k12.nc.us 21614 2-3 days a week until 5:00 in the theatre 3 production opportunities--Global Connections: Auditions beginning of Oct.; One-Act Play Festival: Auditions end of Jan.; Musical Production: Auditions end of Jan.