Why Join an Academic Club?

    • Become more active at Smith Middle School
    • Be part of a team
    • Increase academic achievement
    • Enrich and challenge your mind
    • Receive practical training for the future
    • Participate in innovative competitions
    • Enhance scholarship opportunities

Academic Clubs at Smith

Club Name Advisor Advisor Email Advisor Phone Extension Practice Times Important Dates
Chess Club Eric Zeigler ezeigler@chccs.k12.nc.us 21121 Tuesdays 3:15-4:15 PM in Room 121
Math Counts: tinyurl.com/smithmathcounts Boyd Blackburn bblackburn@chccs.k12.nc.us 21802 Mondays, 3:15-4:30 PM (Location TBA) Sept. 17: Practices Start Dec. 10: School Competition
Rachel Haber rhaber@chccs.k12.nc.us 21551 Mondays, 3:15-4:30 PM (Location TBA)
Model UN Erin Kellas ekellas@chccs.k12.nc.us 21770 Mondays from 3:15-4:00 (location TBA) - Starting in January
National Junior Honor Society: tinyurl.com/smithnjhs Rachel Haber rhaber@chccs.k12.nc.us 21551 The 2nd Tuesday of every month 3:15-4:15 PM in Room 514
Odyssey of the Mind (OM) Eric Zeigler ezeigler@chccs.k12.nc.us 21121 TBA
Sarah O'Shea soshea@chccs.k12.nc.us 21113 TBA
Quiz Bowl Bratton Holmes bholmes@chccs.k12.nc.us 21427 TBA
Science Olympiad Regina Baratta rbaratta@chccs.k12.nc.us 21791 Thursdays and Fridays from 3:15-4:30 (Location TBA) Starting in October, students choose one day a week to attend
Lori Clark lsclark@chccs.k12.nc.us 21309 Thursdays and Fridays from 3:15-4:30 (Location TBA) Starting in October, students choose one day a week to attend
Theatre Danka Kulikowski dkulikowski@chccs.k12.nc.us 21614 2-3 days a week until 5:00 in the theatre 3 production opportunities-- Global Connections: Auditions beginning of Oct.; One-Act Play Festival: Auditions end of Jan.; Musical Production: Auditions end of Jan.