• Reading Resources


  • What's Happening at the Chapel Hill Public Library?!

    Fandom! 

    Teens can drop in and discuss all of their favorites, from anime and comics to books and movies. Games, activities, and fan art are all part of the fun. All fandoms welcome!

    Thursday, October 25th, 4:30-5:30

    Thursday, November 8th, 4:30-5:30

    Thursday, November 29th, 4:30-5:30

     

    Bad Movie Friday

    Cinema can be beautiful, thought provoking, and uplifting. We won’t be watching any of those movies. Come laugh at the worst Hollywood has to offer! In the teen room.

    Friday, November 2nd, 4:00-6:00

    Friday, November 16th, 4:00-6:00

     

    Gamers Unite!

    All your favorite video and board games!
    For middle and high school students.

    Wednesday, November 7th, 6:30-8:00

    Wednesday, November 14th, 6:30-8:00

    Wednesday, November 21st, 6:30-8:00

    Wednesday, November 28th, 6:30-8:00

     

    Dungeons & Dragons for Teens

    Discover new worlds and characters through role play. This teen lead program will be held in the Teen Room.

    Wednesday, November 14th, 4:30-6:30

    Wednesday, November 28th, 4:30-6:30

     

     
  • Our students have access to a wide variety of resources in our school, community, and state. Be sure to take advantage of all we have to offer!


  • NoveList K-8 Plus Database for book recommedations

    The NoveList K-8 Plus Database is a great resource for finding your next book. Search by genre, author, or read-alikes to find your next great read.


  • Check back soon for featured student book recommendations.


  • Flyleaf Books Rainbow

    Flyleaf Books is an excellent literacy resource just down the street from Phillips Middle School. Flyleaf Books offers author events, book clubs, poetry readings, and even brings authors to our local schools.

    Flyleaf Events

    Monday, November 5th, 6pm - YA reads: Julie Dao in conversation with Scott Reintgen: Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix and Nyxia Unleashed.

    Join us at Flyleaf for an evening with two highly praised authors, Julie Dao and Scott Reintgen!

    This fairy tale retelling lives in a mystical world inspired by the Far East, where the Dragon Lord and the Serpent God battle for control of the earthly realm; it is here that the flawed heroine of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns finally meets her match. An epic fantasy finale to that breathtaking and dazzling story.

    Princess Jade has grown up in exile, hidden away in a monastery while her stepmother, the ruthless Xifeng, rules as Empress of Feng Lu. But the empire is in distress and its people are sinking into poverty and despair. Even though Jade doesn’t want the crown, she knows she is the only one who can dethrone the Empress and set the world right. Ready to reclaim her place as rightful heir, Jade embarks on a quest to raise the Dragon Lords and defeat Xifeng and the Serpent God once and for all. But will the same darkness that took Xifeng take Jade, too? Or will she find the strength within to save herself, her friends, and her empire?

    Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with breathtaking pain and beauty, Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix is filled with dazzling magic, powerful prose, and characters readers won’t soon forget.

    Fans of Stealing Snow, Red Queen, and The Wrath and the Dawn will hungrily devour this page-turning read.

    Discover book two in the sci-fi space trilogy that Bustle described as “The 100 meets Illuminae” and Marie Lu called, “a high-octane thriller.”

    Emmett Atwater thought Babel’s game sounded easy. Get points. Get paid. Go home. But it didn’t take long for him to learn that Babel’s competition was full of broken promises, none darker or more damaging than the last one.

    Now Emmett and the rest of the Genesis spaceship survivors must rally and forge their own path through a new world. Their mission from Babel is simple: extract nyxia, the most valuable material in the universe, and play nice with the indigenous Adamite population.

    But Emmett and the others quickly realize they are caught between two powerful forces-Babel and the Adamites-with clashing desires. Will the Genesis team make it out alive before it’s too late?