• In an effort to create schools that are responsive to the needs of its students, the Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools utilize a form of governance called Site-Based Management. The
    concept allows those closest to the school, such as the faculty, parents, staff and students, to participate in making educational decisions about their school. The primary structure for making those decisions is the School Improvement Team (SIT)

    The SIT is responsible for the following:

    • setting policies, goals and standards at the school level
    • developing the School Improvement Plan which identifies the goals of the school for the subsequent one to three years
    • adopting the school budget
    • issuing the annual school report

    The Morris Grove SIT is composed of five parents, five staff members and the principal. Elected members serve a two year term and attend monthly meetings. All meetings are open to the public.

     

    Name Role Email
    James Bedford Parent Representative jbedford.unc@gmail.com
    Michael Brown Assistant Principal msbrown@chccs.k12.nc.us
    Mike Butrico Parent Representative mbutrico@hotmail.com
    Ellen DePinto Teacher Representative edepinto@chccs.k12.nc.us
    Tanisha Hinton Classified Staff Representative thinton@chccs.k12.nc.us
    Cassie Palisky Teacher Representative - Staff Co-Chair cpalisky@chccs.k12.nc.us
    Puja Puri Parent Representative - Parent Co-Chair ppuri001@hotmail.com
    Lee Ann Reilly Parent Representative lajacobs4@gmail.com
    Amy Rickard Principal arickard@chccs.k12.nc.us
    Lara Statile Teacher Representative lstatile@chccs.k12.nc.us
    Courtney Thomas Parent Representative courtneybthomas@gmail.com

     

    School Improvement Plan 2017-2018