Why Join an Academic Club?

    • Become more active at Smith Middle School
    • Be part of a team
    • Increase academic achievement
    • Enrich and challenge your mind
    • Receive practical training for the future
    • Participate in innovative competitions
    • Enhance scholarship opportunities

Academic Clubs at Smith

Club Name Advisor Advisor Email Advisor Phone Extension Practice Times Important Dates
Chess Club Eric Zeigler ezeigler@chccs.k12.nc.us 21121 Tuesdays from 3:20-4:20 PM in Room 121
Gay-Straight Alliance Steve Young syoung@chccs.k12.nc.us 21212 Mondays from 3:20-4:00 PM (Location TBA)
Math Counts: tinyurl.com/smithmathcounts Boyd Blackburn bblackburn@chccs.k12.nc.us 21802 Mondays and Tuesdays from 3:20-4:30 PM in the Library Started on 9/16
Model UN Erin Kellas ekellas@chccs.k12.nc.us 21770 Mondays from 3:20-4:00 PM (Location TBA) - Starting in January
National Junior Honor Society: tinyurl.com/smithnjhs Katie Williams katiewilliams@chccs.k12.nc.us 21803 The second Tuesday of every month (except November) from 3:20-4:15 PM in Room 513
Odyssey of the Mind (OM) Eric Zeigler ezeigler@chccs.k12.nc.us 21121 TBA
Quiz Bowl Bratton Holmes bholmes@chccs.k12.nc.us 21427 Mondays during 6th Grade lunch, Thursdays during 7th Grade lunch, and Fridays after school until 4:45 PM (all grades); all practices in Room 427
Robotics Regina Baratta rbaratta@chccs.k12.nc.us 21791 To Be Announced
Science Olympiad Regina Baratta rbaratta@chccs.k12.nc.us 21791 To Be Announced
Lori Clark lsclark@chccs.k12.nc.us 21309 To Be Announced
Theatre Danka Kulikowski dkulikowski@chccs.k12.nc.us 21614 Our theatre season is on hold right now but don't be discouraged! We are working to get a virtual play production going for the late fall. Stay tuned for more details. See sites.google.com/chccs.k12.nc.us/theatre/home