• School Improvement Team

    The Seawell School Improvement Team (SIT) is a state-mandated organization composed of selected Seawell staff and parents. The group’s purpose is to develop a school improvement plan to strengthen student performance.

    The North Carolina General Assembly requires schools across the state to write Seawell's School Improvement Plan (SIP), an outline of goals for improvement as well as strategies for reaching these goals. Each spring, all schools in the district report their progress toward their School Improvement Plan goals. The SIT reviews materials to help develop the plan and status reports.

    In addition to this responsibility, the SIT functions as an advisory group to Seawell’s leadership, and may provide input on issues such as school programs, philosophy, climate, and safety.

    SITs from all schools in the district serve as counsel to the district and the Board of Education. SIT members attend or monitor Board meetings to advocate for Seawell and to report back to Seawell’s leadership and parents on issues that affect us.

    The SIT solicits input from our school community and presents that input for discussion at meetings with Seawell’s leadership. In addition to offering input through a SIT representative, parents are always welcome to attend SIT meetings, which are open to the Seawell community with public comment time built into every agenda.


    Seawell SIT meetings will be held on the first Thursday of each month at 8:00 AM in the main office except in November and April when we will meet at 6:00 PM. Meeting dates are also included on the school calendar and Seawell PTA website.
    SIT meetings are open meetings and we encourage family members to attend. There will be a public comment section of the agenda the last 10 minutes of each meeting. The team will be active listeners during this time and will determine the best course of action to respond to your public comments after the meeting. If you would like to share your comments in advance or if you aren't able to attend one of the SIT meetings in person, please email the parent co-chair, Tammie Knights, at tjn323@yahoo.com


    SIT Parent Co-chair: Tammie Knights (elected as chair June, 2018, elected to SIT May 2017) tjn323@yahoo.com

    SIT Teacher Co-Chair: Chelsea Robinette (elected Dec. 6, 2018)

    SIT Members:

    Christa Abedi (Parent, elected May 2018)

    Tomika Altman-Lewis (Instructional Support Staff Member, elected May 2018)

    Tina Coyne-Smith (Parent, elected May 2018)

    Arrica Dubose (Principal)

    Bilyana Georgieva (Parent, elected May 2018)

    Cheryl Giscomb-Woods (Parent, elected May, 2017)

    Shanice Harrington (Teacher, elected May 2018)

    Matthew Paylor (Assistant Principal)

    Anna Meyer (Teaching Assistant, elected October 2018)


Seawell SIT Meeting Dates



    Here are the meeting dates for the 2018-19 school year.
    Thursday, September 6 8:00 AM
    Thursday, October 4 8:00 AM
    Thursday, October 25 8:00 AM
    Thursday, December 6 6:00 PM
    Thursday, January 10 8:00 AM
    Thursday, February 7 8:00 AM
    Thursday, March 7 8:00 AM
    Thursday, April 4th 8:00 AM
    Thursday, May 2 6:00 PM
    Thursday, June 6 (mandatory meeting for new members) 8:00 AM