Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID)

  • AVID (Advancement Via Individual Determination), a college readiness system, is designed to be a transformational effort focused on instruction, systems, leadership, and culture, and is designed to increase the number of students who enroll and succeed in higher education and in their lives beyond high school. 

     
    The core of AVID at the middle and high school level is the AVID Elective class, where students are enrolled in a school’s most rigorous classes, such as Honors or Advanced Placement (AP) and receive support through the AVID Elective. 
     
    The goal of AVID at the secondary level is to ensure college readiness for all AVID Elective students and improved academic performance for all students based on increased opportunities.

Contact AVID

  •  

    TBA Director of Equity Leadership & AVID
    919-967-8211
     
    TBA, AVID Secretary
    919-967-8211 

How To Apply To AVID

School AVID Coordinator Directory

School Name Role Phone E-Mail Grade
McDougle Middle Karen Herring AVID Teacher/Coordinator 919-933-1556 ext.76340 kherring@chccs.k12.nc.us 6-8
Phillips Dorlicia Young AVID Teacher/Coordinator 919-929-2188 ext.31297 dyoung@chccs.k12.nc.us 6-8
Smith Eric Zeigler AVID Teacher/Coordinator 919-918-2145 ext.21956 ezeigler@chccs.k12.nc.us 6-8
CHHS Joanne McClelland AVID Teacher/Coordinator 919-929-2106 ext.41123 jmcclelland@chccs.k12.nc.us 11-12
ECHHS Kimberly Manning AVID Teacher/Coordinator 919-969-2482 ext.27100 kmanning@chccs.k12.nc.us 9/10&11
CHS Valerie Puhala AVID Teacher/Coordinator 919-918-2200 vpuhala@chccs.k12.nc.us 9&10/11
Culbreth Middle School Jessica Grinnell AVID Teacher/Coordinator jgrinnell@chccs.k12.nc.us 6-8
Phoenix Academy Gloria Sanchez-Lane AVID Teacher/Coordinator gsanchez-lane@chccs.k12.nc.us