AVID Banner

Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID)

  •  

    WHAT IS AVID?

    AVID is a nationwide program that works to support students who show individual determination to succeed, have at or above grade level achievement, high aptitude, and who see themselves as college and career bound. In Chapel-Hill Carrboro City Schools, AVID supports students at Northside Elementary and all secondary schools (including Phoenix Academy). It is a college preparatory acceleration program that includes two components: 

    • School-wide strategies that focus on college and career awareness, planning, and readiness for all students
    • A daily AVID elective that helps selected students learn the skills necessary to take advanced courses in high school to prepare for attending a four-year college

    AVID has its own curriculum in grades 6-12. The daily elective teaches the principles of WICOR (Writing, Inquiry, Collaboration, Organization, and Reading) and prepares students for higher level coursework. In the high schools, the AVID elective is an honors class.

    THE AVID MISSION

    It is our mission to close the opportunity gap by preparing all students for college readiness and success in a global society. AVID seeks to prepare students for the 21st Century world through practices around critical thinking, complex reading, working with peers, taking part in field trips and experiences that enrich the educational experience, and by modeling what it means to be an AVID scholar for other students who are college bound. 

    AVID STUDENT PROFILE

    AVID students who want to be in the program typically have the following academic profile:

    • Grades and performance that is at or above their grade level
    • Passing scores on their EOGs and/or EOCs
    • The individual determination to be college and career bound
    • Above average aptitude in their verbal reasoning, numeric reasoning, and/or visual/spatial reasoning

    They may be:

    • The first in their families to attend college
    • Historically underserved in four-year colleges
    • Unsure about how to access an honors and Advanced Placement pathway
    • Very bright and capable students with a need for structure around executive functioning

    There are other factors that may make a student an ideal candidate for AVID. Please speak to your school's site coordinator about how AVID might be a good fit for your student.

Contact AVID

  •  

    AVID District Directors 

    Kate Kennedy
    Director, Office of Advanced Learning and Student Leadership
    919-967-8211 ext. 28357
     
    Nick Winstead
    Lead High School AVID Coordinator 
    nwinstead@chccs.k12.nc.us
    919-967-8211 ext. 28022
     
    Karen Herring 
    Lead Middle School AVID Coordinator 
    919-9331556 ext. 76340
     

How To Apply To AVID

School AVID Coordinator Directory

School Name Role Phone E-Mail Grade
Culbreth Middle Jessica Grinnell AVID Coordinator jgrinnell@chccs.k12.nc.us 6-8
McDougle Middle Karen Herring AVID Coordinator kherring@chccs.k12.nc.us 6-8
Phillips Middle Amy Urban AVID Coordinator aurban@chccs.k12.nc.us 6-8
Smith Middle Eric Zeigler AVID Coordinator ezeigler@chccs.k12.nc.us 6-8
Carrboro High Valerie Puhala AVID Coordinator vpuhala@chccs.k12.nc.us 9-12
Chapel HIll High Joanne McClelland AVID Coorindator jmcclelland@chccs.k12.nc.us 9-12
East Chapel Hill High Kimberly Manning AVID Coordinator kmanning@chccs.k12.nc.us 9-12
Phoenix Academy High John Elderkin AVID Coordinator jelderkin@chccs.k12.nc.us 9-12
Northside Elementary Kirtishia Jones AP/AVID Coordinator kdjones@chccs.k12.nc.us Pre-K/5th Grade